Here’s How Diwali Is Celebrated In Different Parts Of India

Diwali is the celebration of Guru Nanak being released from Gwalior Fort. It is known as Bandi Chorr Divas. 

1. Punjab

West Bengal celebrates Kali Puja on Diwali. It is Shyama Puja and is the second-most popular festival in the east. 

2. West Bengal

Cities like Ayodhya and Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh celebrate Dev Deepawali with lakhs of diyas lit on the ghats of river Ganga. 

3. Uttar Pradesh

Gujarati people celebrate Kali Chaudas, New year and Laxmi Puja by  relishing delicious food and bursting loads of crackers. 

4. Gujarat

Maharashtra celebrates Diwali cha Padva  from Dhanteras to Bhau Beej and this festival seems incomplete to them without "Faralachi Thali". 

5. Maharashtra

Goa celebrates Diwali by burning effigies of Asur or Demon Narakasur. 

6. Goa

Temples are lit with numerous diyas and people visit each other's houses to greet, wish and have a nice  get together. 

7. Karnataka

Tamilians take oil bath before sunrise, perform puja, make Kolam rangolis and visit temples. 

8. Tamil Nadu

How is Diwali celebrated at your place?