If you are fasting this Navratri, here are some important things that you must keep in your mind.
Some people do only fruits fasting while many consume meal only once in the entire day. Both of these fasts are allowed during this festival.
If you are fasting, make sure you Akhand Jyot. If not possible make sure you perform aarti twice a day.
You must not use the normal table salt for cooking during Navratri. Use sendha namak or rock salt instead.
You must not consume onion and garlic during this nine-day long festival.
Rice flour, Maids (all-purpose flour), and whole wheat flour should be completely avoided.
Refrain from using refined or seed-based oil for cooking. Instead opt for pure desi ghee or peanut oil.
Make sure you do not consume any non-vegetarian food during Navratri.
You must not consume semolina, legumes and pulses.
The rules for fasting differ from region to region. What are the fasting rules followed in your region?