Under 140 Characters
Whatsapp has now launched a new setting which lets you control who can add you to Whatsapp groups. This in turn, gives more control and privacy to users.
While WhatsApp has redefined the communication space, there are times we also wish we had some ‘me time’ or privacy. Check anyone’s phone and you’ll at least find four or five WhatsApp groups.
Well, it looks like Whatsapp just heard us! To give users more privacy and control on who could add them to groups, Whatsapp has introduced a new privacy setting feature. Get into one of your Whatsapp groups and check under the privacy menu. Three new options- Nobody’, ‘My Contacts’ or ‘Everyone’ will appear.
The ‘Nobody’ option requires you to approve every group before you join, while ‘My Contacts’ means only the contacts on your address book can add you to a group. The ‘Everyone’ option allows users to be added to any group.
These three options lets you filter groups you wish to join. The person sending you a group invite will be prompted to choose one of the options. People will have three days to accept a group invite, after which it will expire.