Kerala Vande Bharat Train: Route, Timings, Cost & More, Here’s All You Need To Know

by Shreya Rathod
Kerala Vande Bharat Train: Route, Timings, Cost & More, Here’s All You Need To Know

With backwaters, beaches and abundant natural resources, Kerala is one of the most visited tourist places in India. Adding to its glory, the state’s first-ever Vande Bharat train has been flagged off by Prime Minister Narendra Modi! Vande Bharat is the semi-high speed train that proved to be a boon to the citizens. After the successful inauguration of these trains in various districts, Kerala got its own Vande Bharat train!

Kerala’s First Vande Bharat Train Flagged Off!

On Tuesday, that is Apr 25th, Prime Minister Narendra Modi flagged off India’s 16th Vande Bharat train. However, it was the first one for Kerala! The event took place at the Thiruvananthapuram Central Station. This Vande Bharat train will be commuting from Thiruvananthapuram and Kasargod.

In addition to travelling 586 kilometres, the train will cover 11 districts. They include Thiruvananthapuram, Kottayam, Kollam, Thrissur, Palakkad, Ernakulam, Pathanamthitta, Malappuram, Kozhikode, Kannur, and Kasargod.

Also Read: PM Modi To Flag Off Kerala’s 1st Vande Bharat That Will Run On Thiruvananthapuram-Kannur Route

On the Kasaragod-Thiruvananthapuram route, the train will start running regularly on April 26, while it will start running on the Thiruvananthapuram-Kasaragod corridor on April 28. The newest Vande Bharat Express will travel the route between Kasaragod and Thiruvananthapuram Central in 8 hours, 5 minutes. This is quicker than the Rajdhani Express, which travels the same trip in about 10 hours, 45 minutes.

Details To Know About The Train

vande bharat kerala
Credits: Ministry Of Railway/ Twitter

With the exception of Thursday, the train will run for six days. At 5:20 am, it will leave Thiruvananthapuram and arrive at Kasaragod at 1:25 pm. At 2.30 p.m., the train will depart from Kasaragod and arrive in Thiruvananthapuram at 10.35 p.m. The Thiruvananthapuram-Kasargod Vande Bharat Express would stop at 14 railway stations.

As for the fares, they vary for Chair Car and Executive Car. Further details are mentioned on the IRCTC website where you can book tickets from! Moreover, the fares will include catering charges.

This is the 16th instalment of the new generation of Indian Railways and more are yet to come. This is one of the major changes in the railway sector, and we are eagerly waiting for more!

Also Read: Rajasthan’s 1st Vande Bharat Express Inaugurated! Take A Look At The Latest Pics Of The Train

So, are you ready to travel by this newest Vande Bharat train? Also, if you have travelled by any of the Vande Bharat trains, please comment below and share your experience!

Cover Image Courtesy: Ministry Of Railway/ Twitter