Bengaluru’s Whitefield-Challaghatta Metro Corridor: Length, Cost & More; All You Need To Know

by Tooba Shaikh
Bengaluru’s Whitefield-Challaghatta Metro Corridor: Length, Cost & More; All You Need To Know

The metro corridor between Whitefield and Challaghatta is finally operational. Its commencement has been much anticipated. Also known as the Purple Line, it began operations on October 9. What is notable about the event is that there was no formal function to mark its inauguration. It was the first time in the history of Namma Metro that a line was inaugurated without a formal function to commemorate it. Here is all you need to know about the Whitefield-Challaghatta Metro corridor.

All About Bengaluru’s Whitefield-Challaghatta Metro Corridor

The last two remaining sections of the Purple Line were inaugurated on October 9 and the Whitefield-Challaghatta metro corridor is now fully operational. The sections from Byappanahalli to KR Puram and Kengeri to Challaghatta were operationalised recently. The Byappanahalli-KR Puram section was 2.2 kilometres long and the Kengeri-Challaghatta section was 2.1 kilometres long.

The total cost of construction for the entire metro line was somewhere between ₹4000 to ₹5000 crores. It is a mostly elevated corridor and around 31 stations on the line are elevated. It is now one of the largest sections of Namma Metro. Phase 1 of the project began in 2007 and it was supposed to be done within the next five years.

The stretch between Byappanahalli and Mahatma Gandhi Road was the first to be finished and was inaugurated in 2011. The end-to-end fare of the Purple Line is ₹60 which means that it is quite affordable to travel in the metro every day. The system of this particular line is designed to attain a maximum speed of 80 kilometres per hour.

Also Read: CT Quickies: From Namma Metro’s Purple Line To Bangladesh-India Travel Fare Hike, 6 Travel News Updates For You

Formal Virtual Inauguration By The PM

Since there was no formal function that marked the commencement of the Purple Line, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will formally inaugurate it. The inauguration will be a virtual event and will take place in the presence of Siddaramaiah, the present Chief Minister of Karnataka today.

The metro service runs from 5 in the morning to 12 AM. It takes a total of 82 minutes to get from one end of the Purple Line to the other. The entirety of the Purple Line stretches across 43.49 kilometres and contains 37 stations. They are:

  • Whitefield (Kadugodi)
  • Hopefarm Channasandra
  • Kadugodi Tree Park
  • Pattanduru Agrahara
  • Sri Sathya Sai Hospital
  • Nallurhalli
  • Kundalahalli
  • Seetharamapalya
  • Hoodi
  • Garudacharapalya
  • Singayyanapalya
  • KR Pura
  • Tin Factory
  • Byappanahalli
  • Swami Vivekananda Road
  • Indiranagar
  • Halasuru
  • Trinity
  • Mahatma Gandi Road
  • Cubbon Park
  • Dr. B R Ambedkar Station
  • Sir M Visveshwaraya Station
  • Nadaprabhu Kempegowda Station
  • Krantovira Sangolli Rayyana Railway Station
  • Magadi Road
  • Sri Balgangadharanatha Swamiji Station
  • Vijayanagara
  • Attiguppe
  • Deepanjali Nagara
  • Mysuru Road
  • Pantharapalya
  • Rajarajeshwari Nagara
  • Jnanabharathi
  • Pattanagere
  • Kengeri Bus Terminal
  • Kengeri
  • Challaghatta

Also Read: Bengaluru’s Namma Metro Announces Additional Trains On Purple Line To Cater High Weekend Footfalls

Were you awaiting the commencement of operations on the Purple Line? Let us know in the comments below!

Cover Image Credits: MTF_Mobility/X (Formerly, Twitter)

For more such snackable content, interesting discoveries and the latest updates on food, travel and experiences in your city, download the Curly Tales App. Download HERE.

Good news! We are on WhatsApp! Subscribe to Curly Tales WhatsApp Channel to stay up-to-date with exclusive content and BTS. Join HERE.