Pune-Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar Green Expressway: Cost, Status, Routes & More

Pune-Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar green expressway will soon be completed on a BOT basis soon.

by Vaishalee Kalvankar
Pune-Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar Green Expressway: Cost, Status, Routes & More

The Union Minister of Road Transport and Highways of India, Nitin Gadkari, is correctly known as the Spiderman of India. He has actually woven a huge web of roads across the country, and that has improved the country’s transport. He announced during question hour in the Lok Sabha that the Pune-Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar Green Expressway will soon be completed. 

Pune-Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar Green Expressway

The NHAI has proposed a six-lane access-controlled motorway that will pass through the important areas in Maharashtra of Paithan and Ahmednagar. The total cost of building the Pune-Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar Green Expressway is estimated to be around ₹10,000 crores. 

Nitin Gadkari mentioned that on a BOT (build, operate, transfer) basis to alleviate traffic congestion in the Pune-Chakan-Shingnapur area.

According to additional information in this respect, Gadkari stated that the Pune-Chakan industrial area has a higher traffic density in response to a sub-question posed by Shiv Sena member Shrirang Barane.

As a result, building a flyover between Chakan-Talegaon and Shingnapur is suggested. For this, an expressway from Pune to Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar will be built on a BOT basis. According to him, this approach will assist in resolving the traffic congestion issue.

 Also Read: Air India Express To Start Direct Flights From Delhi & Bengaluru To Gwalior From Mid-Jan

It Will Link Five Talukas

Credits: @vishalgthakkar/X (formerly Twitter)

Under Bharatmala Pariyojna, this greenfield highway will be created (BMP). The project’s land acquisition phase began in December 2022 with the NHAI’s publication of Notification 3(A). This called for the acquisition of land in 24 villages.

The expressway would be connected to the 701-kilometer Samruddhi Mahamarg (Mumbai-Nagpur Expressway), which is currently under development. The trip between the two cities will take only roughly two hours instead of four or five.

The Pune-Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar Expressway will link five talukas (Bhor, Purandhar, Haveli, Daund, and Shirur) and three districts (Pune, Ahmednagar, and Aurangabad).

This is a list of villages for two talukas:

The Aurangabad Taluka: Adgaon B.K., Chincholi, Ghardon, Zalta, Peerwadi, Hirapur, Sunderwadi,

Varwandi Khurd, Paithan, Dongaon, Balanagar, Kapuswadi, Wadala, Vava, Varudi B.K., Pachalgaon, Narayangaon, Karanjkheda, Akhatwara, Waghadi, Dadegaon Jahangir, Pategaon, Saigaon, and Paithan MC 1 are the Talukas that make up Paithan.

 Also Read: Air India Express To Start Direct Flights From Delhi & Bengaluru To Gwalior From Mid-Jan

What Are Greenfield Expressways?

Credits: Canva

In India, greenfield expressways are constructed with eight lanes at first and have a maximum speed limit of 120 km/h for all kinds of vehicles. These expressways are intended to be 12-lane wide. In the middle of the expressways is designated land for potential 4-lane expansion. 

Greenfield expressways are made to avoid populated regions and travel through new routes in order to spur development in undeveloped areas, lower the cost of acquiring property, and expedite the construction process.

Expressway construction and maintenance will be handled by the National Highways Authority of India, which is housed under the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways. The Indian government’s National Highways Development Project intends to build 18,637 km of new greenfield expressways by 2025 in addition to the nation’s current expressway network.

 Also Read: Air India Express To Start Direct Flights From Delhi &Bengaluru To Gwalior From Mid-Jan

What are your views?

Cover Image Courtesy: @vishalgthakkar/X (formerly Twitter)

For more such snackable content, interesting discoveries and latest updates on food, travel and experiences in your city, download the Curly Tales App. Download HERE.
Good news! We are on WhatsApp! Subscribe to Curly Tales WhatsApp Channel to stay up-to-date with exclusive content and BTS. Join HERE.