Step By Step Guide: How To Get A Lockdown E-Pass To Commute In Delhi NCR

by Tonakshi Kalra
Step By Step Guide: How To Get A Lockdown E-Pass To Commute In Delhi NCR

Coronavirus has led to the nationwide shutdown for 21 days and we can still expect its further extension since the cases are increasing at an alarming rate in India. The state governments have been asking people to maintain social distance and has now come out with curfew E-passes. Delhi curfew E-passes are issued to service providers will be valid only for the period of the lockdown.

Also read: Delhi’s Gurudwara Bangla Sahib Is Serving 40,000 People Each Day Of The Lockdown

Image credits: Vox

What’s Happening

With empty roads and markets shut, the country is at a standstill. Though the essential movements are not being stopped by the government but will be regulated by the E-pass. These passes are being issued to facilitate free movement of service providers within Delhi- NCR (Noida, Gurugram, Ghaziabad, and Faridabad). These work as identity cards, easing the navigation for these providers.

The items for which the E-pass can be issued is mentioned in the list on the official site. It’s being issued to those who are engaged in providing essential services like manufacturing, transport, storage and shops but do not have a private or government ID. So not everyone can get an E-pass during the curfew. The movement is being closely monitored by the government.

Both Online & Offline Passes Are Available

Online passes can be obtained by going to the official website-

The application to obtain the E pass can also be made offline.

E-Passes In Delhi

The organisations providing essential services are supposed to apply for curfew passes from the office of the DCP of the concerned district. After assessing the requirements, the additional Deputy Commissioner of Police of the district will issue the curfew E pass.

For Neighbouring Districts

Not only Delhi, but some of the neighbouring districts are also issuing these passes. For the following districts, the E curfew pass can be obtained through the mentioned offices:

Gurugram and Manesar: South-West DCP
Ghaziabad: Shahdara DCP
Noida: East DCP office
Faridabad: South-East DCP office
Sonipat: Outer-North DCP
Bahadurgarh and Jhajjar: Outer DCP office

How To Apply For E-Pass On Website

Image credits:

Also read: Here’s How To Apply For A Travel Pass During Lockdown In Delhi And Gurgaon

The Delhi government website has a link for e-pass. To get access to E pass:
When one goes to the website, an option asking ‘What do you need help with?’ is visible. Scroll down and other options will appear. The list of options are food, rations, Rs 5000 compensation for construction workers, pension amount and e-pass for travel during the curfew.


  • Go to
  • Click on the link ‘Apply for E-pass’
  • The link will direct you to E pass website
  • Select the reason for which you wish to apply for the E pass
  • Fill in your contact number, name and address and submit.
  • Also, the direct link to the e-Pass website is:

Apply Via Whatsapp

The Delhi government has come up with an option to get the E-pass through WhatsApp. There are numbers provided according to the area on which people can send a message.

East District 8447200084, 8375878007

North East District 9540895489, 8860425666

Central District 7428336279, 7428210711

New Delhi district 9540675392, 9873743727

North District 8595298706, 8595354861

Shahdara district 8595272697, 8595274068

South-East District 8595246396, 8595258871

West District 9414320064, 8595252581

South District 9599649266, 9643150027

South West District 9971518387, 9971526953

North West District 8595559117, 8595543375

Image credits: The Indian Express

Also read: Sort Out Your Hunger Pangs This Lockdown By Ordering Food From These 8 Amazing Delhi Eateries

One can just message the WhatsApp number for each district and provide details like name, address, details of essential purpose, period, timing, copy of ID proof and vehicle number if required in order to get the e-pass. All this information can be sent via WhatsApp. The helpline no. 1031, can be used for any related queries.

How To Check Curfew E-pass Application Status?

The people who have already applied can check the status for their E pass. The process to check the status of the application is given below –

  • Go to the official website of Delhi Government
  • Hit the ‘Click Here to Apply for ePass’ link given on the homepage
  • Select the preferred language
  • Click on ‘Check Status’ link
  • Enter the 7-character E-pass Id provided after the submission of application in the space provided
  • Proceed further by clicking on ‘Check Status’ tab
  • Finally, application status will appear.