India Goes Vocal For Local This Diwali; China Faces ₹50,000 Crore Worth Of Loss

by Tania Tarafdar
India Goes Vocal For Local This Diwali; China Faces ₹50,000 Crore Worth Of Loss

While the Covid-19 pandemic played a damper on last year’s Diwali celebrations, this year the “festival of lights” was celebrated with pomp and show. According to the Confederation of All India Traders (CAIT), Diwali festival sales generated a huge business of around ₹1.25 lakh crore, that’s a record sale figure in the last 10 years of Diwali. In a report by The Statesman, CAIT National President, BC Bhartia revealed that Chinese goods were not sold in the markets across India. With an emphasis on Vocal for Local, customers focussed on purchasing Indian goods, this led to China facing a massive direct loss of ₹50,000 crores. Meanwhile, here’s also a look at the states that have prohibited the usage of firecrackers for Diwali 2021.

These Indian States Banned Firecrackers Ahead Of Diwali

1. Delhi

The Delhi Pollution Control Committee imposed a complete ban on bursting firecrackers in the national capital till January 1, 2022. They imposed this ban given the public interest to curb high air pollution in Delhi.

Also read: This Restaurant In Delhi Is Serving Unlimited Food For Just ₹599 & It Can’t Get Better!

2. Odisha

Odisha government banned the sale and usage of firecrackers have this festive season to protect the health of the general public and to curb the spread of infection. The government has prohibited both the sale and use of firecrackers during the festive month. 

3. Rajasthan

The Rajasthan government has banned the sale and usage of firecrackers in view of the harmful effects of the smoke as the third wave of COVID-19 still looms. However, the state government has further allowed the usage and sale of green crackers across the state.

4. Punjab

Punjab government has imposed a ban on the manufacturing, storage, distribution, sale, and usage of firecrackers across Punjab. However, residents will only be allowed to burst crackers on the day of Diwali from 8 to 10 pm in the state.

Also read: Bengalis Celebrate A Desi Version Of Halloween One Day Before Diwali & Here’s Why

5. West Bengal

West Bengal has banned the sale and usage of firecrackers because of air pollution. However, residents will be allowed to burst green crackers on Diwali and Chhath Puja, for two hours from 8 to 10 pm and 6 to 8 pm respectively.

Also read: This Diwali, Escape The Noise & Stay In The Lap Of Luxury At This New Hotel In Gandhinagar

Apart from these, many other states such as Bihar and Uttar Pradesh have banned firecrackers. While Maharashtra government has not imposed a ban but has requested its residents to abstain from bursting them this festive season.