Transit Visa Is Now Mandatory For Bolivian Citizens Who Wish To Travel To Ireland; More Rules Inside

by Vaishalee Kalvankar

The Irish Department of Justice has declared that all Bolivian citizens must obtain a visa in advance in order to travel to Ireland from September 12, 2023. According to a statement released on September 8 by the same body, Bolivians who wish to transit through Ireland on their way to another location will also need a transit visa, according to

Transit Visa Is Now Mandatory For Bolivian Citizens


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Ireland (@tourismireland)

If you are a Bolivian citizen and wish to travel to Ireland, make sure to get your transit visa. The Department of Justice also pointed out that Irish visa rules are regularly examined to achieve a compromise between maintaining efficient immigration controls and enabling people who want to travel to Ireland for business, pleasure, education, or to visit family.

Bolivians will require a different visa to enter the Schengen Area, even if they first get an Irish visa, as explained by SchengenVisaInfo, because Ireland is not a member of the Schengen Zone

Since obtaining a visa is now required, Bolivian nationals should check the particular visa requirements for each country they intend to visit, as these rules vary greatly. Passport holders from Bolivia can travel to a number of nations without a visa, including Russia, Turkey, Argentina, Mexico, and Hong Kong. (As per schengen visa news)

Also Read: Good News! South Delhis Nehru Place To Get A Skywalk; Area To Be Refurbished By March 2024

Travel To 45 Nations Without Visa


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Ireland (@tourismireland)

The Bolivian passport is currently ranked 112th in the world on the VisaGuide Passport Index as of September 2023. Bolivian nationals can now travel to 45 nations without a visa thanks to this rating. 

The remaining nations, however, need Bolivian passport holders to request a visa in advance in order to enter.

They must fulfill additional requirements in addition to acquiring a Schengen Visa, such as adhering to the first entry rule and the 90/180-day rule, which states that the traveler has not exceeded a total stay of 90 days within 180 days in the Schengen region. (As per schengen visa news)

Also Read: From Araku Coffee To Kashmiri Saffron, Check Out The Gifts G20 Leaders Took Back Home From India

Make sure you check the new rules!

Cover Image Courtesy: Canva