Kolkata’s Durga Puja -To Get UNESCO Heritage

by Angel Srivastava
by Angel Srivastava 1296

Under 140 Characters

Kolkata’s Durga Puja has been nominated for UNESCO’s Intangible Cultural Heritage list for the year 2020 by Sangeet Natya Akademi.

What is it?

Every year UNESCO adds to its list of IHC cultural traditions and arts from around the world.

Photo: Holidify

This year Sangeet Natya Akademi termed Durga Pooja as the most important festival of West Bengal. They stated that apart from West Bengal the festival is observed with the same fervour in several other states and cities across India as well as in a number of other countries.

Photo: Lonelyplanet

Sangeet Natya Akademi is the organisation responsible for sending in the nominations from India. Along with the Durga Puja they have also nominated Bishnupur, in Bankura district for its terracotta temples.

Photo: India Today

What else?

So far, India already has 13 IHCs on the list. The Kumbh Mela was recently added to the list in 2017. Others include yoga, dance forms Chhau, Kalbelia and Mudyettu, Vedic and Buddhist Chanting, and the tradition of brass and copper utensil making in Punjab’s Jandiala Guru.

You may also like