UAE Travel Ban 2021: Which Countries Are Suspended From Entering The UAE Now?

by Vaishnavi Venkataraman
by Vaishnavi Venkataraman 2016

In the wake of the Covid-19 pandemic sweeping the world, the General Authority of Civil Aviation in the UAE banned flights to and from several countries across the UAE. Both Emirates and Etihad Airways have suspended flights to and from nine countries. Here’s a list of countries from where passengers can’t fly in!

Also read: Make Money With With These 6 Free Applications That Pay You To Walk

1. India

Initially, the UAE had also banned flights from India until 14 June 2021. And now, after Air India Express announcing the extension of Ban till July 6, UAE carrier- Emirates has also made a similar.  Emirates on its website have mentioned that the suspension of passenger flights from India to UAE will continue until July 6.

However, the GCAA affirmed that UAE nationals, diplomatic passport holders, official delegations, business flights, and golden residence holders are exempted from this decision. However, in the event of them travelling, all passengers must follow a 10-day quarantine, undergo a PCR test at the airport as well as another test on the fourth and eighth days of entering the country. The test results will only be accepted from authorised labs which generate a QR code.

2. Vietnam

Passengers coming from Vietnam on all flights, including transit flights will not be permitted entry into the UAE. However, transit flights coming to the UAE and heading out to Vietnam will be permitted. Furthermore, the ban is not applicable to UAE Nationals and their first degree relatives arriving from Vietnam, Golden and Silver visa holders, UAE officials with special permission, and passengers who have completed 28 days, after being fully vaccinated for COVID‑19 (Coronavirus SARS Cov‑2) with a vaccine approved by the WHO are exempted from the ban.

Also read: World’s Most Livable Cities: Auckland Tops The List, European Cities Fare Poorly

3. Bangladesh, Pakistan & Srilanka

UAE suspended all flights to and from Bangladesh, Pakistan and Srilanka on 12 May, until further notice. Furthermore, travellers who have travelled through Bangladesh in the last 14 days cannot travel from any other point to the UAE. The ban is also applicable to transit flights coming from Bangladesh. However, transit flights passing the UAE, heading to Bangladesh may continue.

UAE Nationals, holders of UAE Golden Visas and members of diplomatic missions who comply with updated COVID‑19 protocols are exempt from the ban.

Also read: These 6 Countries Are So Small That You Can Visit Them In A Day

4. South Africa

Etihad and Emirates have suspended flights to and from South Africa from May 5 until June 30. Besides, travellers who have been to or connected through South Africa in the last 14 days will not be permitted to enter the UAE.

5. Zambia, DR Congo & Uganda

UAE suspended flights to and fromZambia, DR Congo and Uganda from 11 June. However, UAE citizens and their first-degree relatives, and diplomatic passport holders between the UAE and the three countries are exempt from the ban. Also exempt are official delegations and businessmen, and golden and silver residency visa holders.

You may also like

6 Monasteries In India Where You Can Stay These Maharashtrian Snacks Are A Perfect Match With Your Evening ChaiThese Maharashtrian Snacks Are A Perfect Match With Your Evening Chai 5 Snacks To Grab Under ₹30 In Mumbai 5 Snacks To Grab Under ₹30 In Mumbai That Are Not Vada Pav South Indian Comfort Meals To Boost Your Immunity 5 Gross In-Flight Foods & Drinks That You Must Avoid