We’ve Got 15 Long Weekends In 2018 And This Is How You Can Make The Most Of It

    Can you believe it’s only 6 weeks to 2018? So while there are a few who are busy making Christmas & New Year preparations, we just can’t wait for the long weekends of 2018. We have 15 of them in the new year. Fret not, we have got your itinerary sorted. Plan road trips or romantic weekend getaways with bae; here’s how you can make the most of the new year so let’s take a look:

    1. January 20, Saturday
    January 21, Sunday
    January 22, Monday (Basant Panchami) 

    Planning to be whisked away for the first long weekend of the year? Head to the Rann Utsav at Rann of Kutch for the festival of music and culture. Although, it is a four-month long festival, but you can attend a couple of days to get a taste of real heritage here.

    Also read: Immerse Yourself In Nature & Luxury In Woods At Sasan, Gujarat

    Long weekends 2018

    Rann Utsav, Rann of Kutch

    2. January 26, Friday (Republic Day) 
    January 27, Saturday
    January 28, Sunday

    Say cheers to the second long weekend in 2018. If you’ve had enough of watching the Republic Day parade on TV, then simply catch a hold of your road trip buddies and head to the Jaipur Literature Festival during that time.

    Also read: Go On A Balloon Safari In Pink City & Float Over The Amer Fort

    Long weekends 2018

    Jaipur Literature Festival

    3. February 10, Saturday
    February 11, Sunday
    February 12, Monday: Take a leave
    February 13, Tuesday (Mahashivratri)

    Getting you a splendid 4 day long weekend, February is the month of love so celebrate it with your bae. Goa‘s weather will be cool and pleasant so head to the beach destination to spend some quality time and attend night-long parties and eat lip-smacking seafood.

    Also read: 11 Lesser-Known Travel Experiences In Goa You Must Try

    Long weekends 2018

    Ocean Trek on Nevati | Image credit: Rural Tourism Network Enterprise

    4. March 1, Thursday (Holika Dahan)
    March 2, Friday (Holi) 
    March 3, Saturday
    March 4, Sunday

    If you’re not a fan of the commercially noisy and rowdy Holi antiques, you could enjoy a quiet Holi at Rajasthan’s wildlife stay – Lakshman Sagar. Lakshman Sagar was built in the 19th Century as a hunting lodge by the then Thakur of Raipur. Despite going through a few changes over the years, it still continues to remain the center of hospitality for tourists across the globe.

    Also read: Lakshman Sagar In Rajasthan Has A Private Pool In Every Cottage & Is Every Traveler’s Dream

    5. March 29, Thursday (Mahavir Jayanti) 
    March 30, Friday (Good Friday)
    March 31, Saturday
    April 1, Sunday

    Since this is another 4 day weekend falling in 2018, why not take a trip to a place where you can expand your skills. So whether you’re learning how to surf in Gokarna, or Scuba diving in the Andamans, it will be a pretty neat deal!

    Also read: 7 Places You Can Travel To In India To Learn Something New

    Long weekends 2018

    6. April 27, Friday: Take leave
    April 28, Saturday
    April 29, Sunday
    April 30, Monday (Buddha Purnima)
    May 1, Tuesday (Maharashtra Day)

    Peeps in Maharashtra get one more bonus day falling along with this long weekend. So what can be done? You can obviously take advantage of the bonus day and head to Devkund Falls, which is only 3 hours away from Mumbai. Devkund Waterfalls are situated in the wilderness of the great range of Sahyadris in Western Ghats. This secluded fall is hidden in the dense forest and so called ‘The Amazon Valley of India and is perfect for nature-lovers and people who seek peace in this chaotic city life.Splash around in some crystal clear water and live the happy time.

    Also read: Devkund Waterfalls Is A Must-Visit & It’s Just 3 Hours Away From Mumbai

    Long weekends 2018

    Devkund falls

    7. June 15, Friday (Idul’ Fitr)
    June 16, Saturday
    June 17, Sunday

    Let’s make this weekend an adventurous one by visiting the river rafting camp at Kolad. Weather like this should not be wasted by sitting at home! Bring some excitement in your lives and enjoy the monsoons with white water rafting at Kundalika river, just 4 hours away from Mumbai. Kundalika river is the hub for white water rafting which is one of the most captivating adventure activities in the terrain.

    Also read: #WeekendGoals: Go River Rafting For Only ₹1,650 At Kolad

    8. August 15, Wednesday (Independence Day)
    August 16, Thursday: Take leave
    August 17, Friday (Parsi New Year)
    August 18, Saturday
    August 19, Sunday

    5 days for a long weekend yet again. Where should we go next? Try your luck at camping or go for a trek with some buddies. Pack up your tents and head off to explore nature at its best at these unique camping spots near Mumbai.

    Also read: Go Camping At These 5 Offbeat Spots Around Mumbai

    Long weekends 2018

    9. August 22, Wednesday (Idul’ Zuha)
    August 23, Thursday: Take a leave
    August 24, Friday (First day of Onam)
    August 25, Saturday: Weekend
    August 26, Sunday: Weekend/ Raksha Bandhan

    The first day of Onam is holiday only in Kerela, but fret not because we’ve got something up our sleeves down South too. Being one of the gems in India, Athirapally in Kerala has picturesque waterfalls and is the ultimate paradise for people bitten by the travel bug.

    Also read: Athirapally In Kerala Has The Most Scenic Waterfalls That You Can’t Miss

    Long weekends 2018

    Athirapally falls

    10. September 1, Saturday
    September 2, Sunday
    September 3, Monday (Janamashtami)

    It might be Lord Krishna’s birthday, but you can have your own way of celebrating. Rejuvenate yourself in the arms of nature and head to Mulshi for a breath-taking weekend. Mulshi is a small hill station near Pune might be getting famous for all the right reasons. Built near the dam, Mulshi is a perfect long weekend getaway into the calm atmosphere of the dense forestland in the Sahyadri mountain ranges. Not just that, you can now pamper yourself to the grand treatment of resorts and spas available close to the location. It offers the best scenic views during the monsoon season to spend a peaceful weekend away from the rush of a busy city.

    Also read: 6 Luxurious Resorts In Mulshi To Try Out This Long Weekend

    11. September 13, Thursday (Ganesh Chaturthi)
    September 14, Friday: Take a leave
    September 15, Saturday
    September 16, Sunday

    If you’re clueless about where to head to from Mumbai for this long weekend, we’ve got you covered. The long weekend is here. It’s time to gather your friends, pack your bags, carry your sunscreen and head out of Mumbai. Worried about spending too much? Fear Not. Curly Tales has picked out some great hotels and pretty places that won’t burn a hole in your pocket. Check out – 10 Places To Visit On The Long Weekend Under ₹5000

    Long weekends 2018

    12. September 29, Saturday
    September 30, Sunday
    October 1, Monday: Take a leave
    October 2, Tuesday (Gandhi Jayanti)

    It might be a dry day in your city, but not in Grover Zampa. Behold wine lovers, Grover Zampa in Nashik has a perfect weekend planned for you. Know all about wine making & tasting at this vineyard all in a day’s trip, just 3 hours away from Mumbai.

    Also read: We’ve Found Paradise For Wine Lovers At Grover Zampa In Nashik

    13. October 18, Thursday (Ram Navami)
    October 19, Friday (Dussera)
    October 20, Saturday
    October 21, Sunday

    Doesn’t matter which city you’re in, a new hotel pops up everywhere. We’ve got a list of all new openings in 2017, so why not explore? India is all prepped up to welcome brand new hotels all across the country. Check out – New Hotels Coming Up in 2017 to Spoil You!

    Long weekends 2018

    Four Points by Sheraton, Kerala

    14. November 3, Saturday
    November 4, Sunday
    November 5, Monday (Dhanteras)
    November 6, Tuesday: Take a leave
    November 7, Wednesday (Diwali)
    November 8, Thursday: Gowardhan Puja
    November 9, Friday (Bhai Duj)
    November 10, Saturday
    November 11, Sunday

     

    Who doesn’t like the Diwali long weekend? But are you worried about what to do this weekend? Unpland can do the task for you! Unpland designs trips across in the country. The catch with them is the fact you’re not going to know where you’re headed to until the last moment. You fill up a survey and they take care of your travel and accommodation while your destinations if a secret.

    Also read: Travel Without The Hassles Of Planning With Unpland

    Long weekends 2018

    15. December 22, Saturday
    December 23, Sunday
    December 24, Monday: Take a leave
    December 25, Tuesday (Christmas Day)

    Now that we know the Mumbai to Goa ferry service has been started, why not take advantage of that? Goa in December means loads of music festivals, beer festivals and fun party scenes!

    Also read: Goa is Just a Ship Away!

    Long weekends 2018

    LIKE Curly Tales on Facebook | InstagramTwitter

    You can subscribe to our newsletter

    Kritika Kukreja
    Suggested Articles