UK To Lift Mandatory Quarantine For Covishield Vaccinated Indian Travellers From October 11

by Tania Tarafdar
by Tania Tarafdar 706

Many countries are slowly opening their borders to fully vaccinated Indians without the need to quarantine.There is some great news here for Indian tarvellers waiting to travel to the UK. The UK government lifted the quarantine guidelines for the fully vaccinated passengers from India vaccinated with Covishield. Issuing a statement, Alex Ellis, British High Commissioner to India, said that no quarantine is required for Indian travellers to the UK who have been fully vaccinated with Covishield or any another UK-approved vaccine from October 11.

Earlier, Indians were asked to undergo a 10-day quarantine, irrespective of the vaccination status. The UK government said that any person vaccinated in Africa, or South America, UAE, India, Turkey, Jordan, Thailand, Russia, will be considered unvaccinated and should follow the quarantine rules. Reacting to the change in rules, Congress leader Jairam Ramesh said, “Absolutely bizarre considering Covishield was originally developed in the UK and The Serum Institute, Pune has supplied to that country too! This smacks of racism.” However now, The United Kingdom will reopen on October 4 to indian passengers  vaccinated with Covishield against COVID-19,  easing pandemic-related restrictions on India.

What Are The Travel Rules For Unvaccinated Passengers?

If you are traveling to the UK, you should be abreast of these new rules:

  • Carry an RT-PCR test report taken 72 hours before departure.
  • Book and pay for RT-PCR tests that you should take on day 2 and day 8 after arrival in England.
  • Fill passenger locator form any time in the 48 hours before departure.

Also read: UK To Treat Fully Vaccinated Travellers From The UAE As ‘Unvaccinated’ With 10-Day Quarantine

What Are the Quarantine & Testing Rules After Arrival In UK?

Once you arrive in England, you must do the following if you are not vaccinated with Covishield:

  • Quarantine at home for 10 days in England.
  • Take a Covid-19 test on or before day 2 and day 8 after arrival.

Also read: Cristiano Ronaldo Moves Into Super Luxurious 7BHK Mansion In UK With Indoor Swimming Pool, Gym

UK’s travel rules divided countries into 3 different categories — Green, Amber, and Red. India falls under the Amber category and according to the new rules, only one category will be recognised and that is, Red.

Watch out this space for more such international travel updates.

You may also like