UP, Gujarat & More; Australian Unis Ban These 6 Indian States Over Fraud Applications

fraud applications
by Tooba Shaikh

Moving abroad is a popular trend among youngsters these days. Many people, in order to avail of better opportunities and standard of living, travel to countries like the United States of America, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Australia under the guise of pursuing higher education. Recently, however, it seems that many Australian universities have been receiving fraud applications. Following this, Australian universities have announced a ban on applications from six Indian states.

Australian Universities Ban Applications From 6 Indian States Over Fraud Applications

fraud applications

Image Credits: Canva Images

A report by Australia’s Department of Home Affairs mentioned that at least one in every four applications has been fraudulent. Keeping in mind such high numbers of fraudulent applications, two Australian universities have banned applications from six Indian states.

These are Uttar Pradesh or UP, Gujarat, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Haryana, and Jammu and Kashmir. The two universities— Western Sydney University in New South Wales and Federation University in Victoria— have separately announced the ban. This ban comes just three days ahead of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s visit to the country.

Both universities mentioned the rise in fraudulent visa applications as the reason for initiating this ban. According to an article published by the Hindustan Times, education agents were told not to consider applications of candidates from these six Indian states.

Also Read: Barren Sand, Striking Mountains, Visa-Free Kazakhstan’s 6 Offbeat Experiences Are A Must-Try!

Other Universities Increase Scrutiny Of Applications

fraud applications

Image Credits: Canva Images

After the ban was announced, many emails from various prominent universities mentioned that they, too, have tightened the screening process while evaluating applicants from these regions. Edith Cowan University in Joondalup announced in February that they would not be entertaining applications from Punjab and Haryana.

Victoria University, too, announced restrictions on a total of eight Indian states including Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. Seeing how this problem is now ballooning into a trend, universities have been forced to take such drastic steps.

Since Prime Minister Narendra Modi is soon visiting the country, a large number of the Indian diaspora awaits his visit.

Also Read: Visa-Free Travel To Kazakhstan Now Possible For Indian Passport-Holders; Stay For Upto 42 Days

What are your thoughts on this entire ordeal and do you think the ban is justified? Let us know in the comments below.

Cover Image Credits: Canva Images