Indonesia Is No Longer Visa-Free For 159 Countries Including India; Visitors Must Apply For…

by Shreya Rathod
Indonesia Is No Longer Visa-Free For 159 Countries Including India; Visitors Must Apply For…

Since Indonesia is an archipelago, it is made up of a total of 17,000 different islands. They differ from one another in cultural and geographic characteristics. It is the ultimate beach retreat because it is also bordered by various oceans. It is a popular tourist destination since they don’t have visa issues. However, the authorities have decided to suspend visa-free entry for tourists from these countries. 

No Visa-Free Entry In Indonesia For Tourists

visa-free entry indonesia
Credits: Canva

Late last week, Indonesia declared that it would no longer grant visa-free admission to 159 nationals, including all Scandinavians. Nationals of ten ASEAN nations and surrounding nations are eligible for visa-free access. These include Timor Leste, Vietnam, Cambodia, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei Darussalam, the Philippines, and Brunei Darussalam.

Since the start of the pandemic, only residents of ASEAN countries are permitted to enter without a visa. Holiday travellers to Indonesia must apply for an e-VOA or visa-on-arrival in advance. For individuals who want to stay for more than 30 days, there are other sorts of tourist visas available.

Although visa-on-arrival is still an option and visa-free entrance has not been available to anybody other than residents of ASEAN countries for some time, several websites have reported the change. In the 2010s, Indonesia began easing entry rules and abolishing visa requirements, which have since been reinstated, in an effort to boost tourism.

Also Read: Mount Merapi Erupts In Indonesia, Smoke And Ash Take Over Villages

List Of Countries That Are No Longer Visa-Free 

visa-free entry indonesia
Credits: Canva

Here are the countries that do not have a visa-free entry in Indonesia; take a look:

  • Chile
  • Kiribati
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Denmark
  • South Africa
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • United States of America
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • South Korea
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Dominica
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Switzerland
  • Sweden
  • Estonia
  • Kuwait
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • Georgia
  • Ghana
  • Austria
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Madagascar
  • Maldives
  • Nicaragua
  • Norway
  • Palau
  • Palestine
  • Panama
  • Ivory Coast
  • Papua New Guinea
  • French
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Qatar
  • Dominican Republic
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Japan
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda
  • Nepal 
  • Egypt 
  • India
  • Zimbabwe
  • Greece
  • Nepal
  • New Zealand
  • Kenya
  • Mexico
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Chad
  • Morocco
  • Mauritania
  • Bhutan
  • Belgium
  • Bahrain
  • Bahamas

Also Read: 10 Schengen Countries With Lowest Visa Rejection Rates In 2023 For A Last-Minute European Holiday!

So, if you are planning to visit Indonesia, don’t forget to apply for a visa on arrival!

Cover Image Courtesy: Canva