Planning Air Travel Amid Second Wave Of COVID-19? Know The Latest State-Wise Rules

by Tania Tarafdar

Do you have air travel lined up in the upcoming days? Due to the spike in COVID cases across the country, many states have imposed new travel rules for all air passengers. And while we still recommend against flying right now, if you must travel for business or emergency purposes, here are all the state-by-state guidelines that you should know. Read on!

1. Maharashtra

To combat the spread of COVID-19, Maharashtra has mandated a negative COVID-19 RT-PCR report for all incoming travellers in the state via air from Delhi, Rajasthan, Goa, or Gujarat. Air passengers who will show the RT-PCR negative reports will be allowed to proceed to their destinations. Those not having the reports will have to undergo the test by shelling out an amount of ₹1400. 

2. Delhi

Are you travelling to Delhi? You will need to carry a COVID negative certificate if your starting point is from Maharashtra, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, and Punjab. The national capital, Delhi has imposed new travel guidelines on passengers flying from India’s worst-hit Covid state, Maharashtra. As per the new rules, travellers arriving from Maharashtra must mandatorily carry a negative RT-PCR test report ( not older than 72 hours before departure). Moreover, passengers who don’t have a negative Covid test report must undergo 14-day home quarantine on reaching Delhi. 

3. Kolkata, West Bengal West Bengal

Are you travelling to Kolkata by air? You will now have to carry a mandatory COVID negative certificate if you are travelling from Maharashtra, Karnataka, Kerala, and Telangana. You should conduct the test 72 hours before your departure to Kolkata. The decision to make a test report mandatory has been taken after the state recorded the highest single-day spike of cases.

4. Assam

All passengers arriving from Mumbai or Bangalore via flights will have to carry RT-PCR negative reports, conducted within 72 hours prior to undertaking the journey. Airlines will allow the boarding of only those passengers who have negative reports. If the report is not satisfactory, the person will have to undergo a paid COVID test at the airport on arrival and wait inside airport premises till the result arrives. Assam Will Soon Have The Longest Fly Over In India At The Kaziranga National Park.

5. Odisha

People entering Odisha by bus, train, airplane, waterways, or in a private vehicle will have to produce either a negative RT-PCR test report or the final certificate of vaccination, after both the doses. Those not carrying the report or the vaccination completion certificate will have to undergo quarantine mandatorily for seven days.

Also read: Explore Odisha Through Water; Govt To Start River Cruises To Boost Tourism

6. Rajasthan

Rajasthan has mandated COVID-19 negative reports for people coming from other states. The incoming passengers need to present a virus-negative report from an RT-PCT test taken within 72 hours before entering Rajasthan. The state government has taken the decision after the rise in the number of infections in the neighbouring states.

7. Karnataka

Karnataka has also made a negative RT-PCR report mandatory Chandigarh, Punjab, Kerala, and Maharashtra. Passengers need to do a test not more than 72 hours before departure.

8. Kerala

Do you have a Kerala travel lined up? passengers will have to secure an e-pass by registering on the state’s Covid-19 portal ( Symptomatic passengers will have to take a Covid test upon arrival. However, if you’re travelling for business trade, court cases, or medical purposes these rules are relaxed.

9. Gujarat

According to reports, a few passengers who visited Gujarat in the last few days were made to do the testing before they left the airport premises. These were the passengers who arrived without an RT-PCR test report. Now, the state government has made it mandatory for everyone travelling to Gujarat to provide an RT-PCR negative report done within 72 hours of travel.

 10. Madhya Pradesh

All passengers arriving in Indore and Bhopal from Maharashtra must carry a negative RT-PCR report not earlier than 48 hours. This rule does not apply to arrivals from other states or union territories. The Tiger State Madhya Pradesh Lost 26 Tigers In 2020 Due To Poaching & Other Reasons. 

11. Uttar Pradesh

All passengers arriving in Uttar Pradesh from Maharashtra and Kerala must carry a negative RT-PCR report. The test should be done within 72 hours before arrival. You will be asked to undergo mandatory 14-day home quarantine unless you plan to leave the state within a week of arrival.

12. Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand has also made RT PCR test reports mandatory for people travelling from Maharashtra, Kerala, Punjab, Karnataka, Chhattisgarh, MP, TN, Gujarat, Haryana, UP, Delhi, and Rajasthan. The test should be done 72 hours prior to arrival in the state. 

Watch this space for more information for travel during COVID times.