Andaman Shuts Tourists Spots And All Related Activities To Contain COVID-19 Spread

by Sanjana Shenoy
by Sanjana Shenoy 1824

The new Omicron variant which first emerged in southern Africa around mid-November has triggered waves of fear all across the world. With countries implementing new travel curbs, several states in India have also announced updated travel guidelines, especially for international arrivals from ‘at-risk’ countries. Read on to know the different travel guidelines implemented by the states in India.

1. Delhi

The Delhi government announced compulsory RT-PCR tests for all international arrivals from ‘at-risk’ nations. Passengers must submit samples for Covid-19 testing and wait at the airport until the results arrive. If tested negative, passengers should undergo home quarantine for 7 days. In case the result turns positive they must be in self-isolation and follow the treatment protocol at Lok Nayak Jai Prakash Narayan Hospital.

Due to the rising COVID-19 cases, domestic flyers will be randomly tested at the airport. Besides, all passengers will have to undergo thermal screening upon arrival. Passengers who test positive will have to quarantine for ten days at home or a COVID Care Centre. 

Also Read: India’s Third Vaccine Dose Policy Might Become A Reality In 14 Days Amid Omicron Concerns

2. Maharashtra

The Maharashtra government has urged all international travellers to send details of their travel history of 15 days before boarding a flight to Mumbai or any other transport to reach Maharashtra. Passengers from at-risk nations have separate counters for checking. Institutional quarantine, additional RT-PCR tests are mandatory. All international passengers having connecting flights must also undergo an RT-PCR test. They can board the connecting flight only if the result is negative. Domestic travel is permitted for fully vaccinated passengers or they must show a negative Covid test report, done 48 hours before travel.

Also Read: Here’s How Your New Year Travel Plans May Get Affected Amid Fresh Omicron Curbs And Restrictions

3. Karnataka

All international arrivals to Karnataka must take RT-PCR tests for Covid-19.  Those who test positive will be taken to a hospital. And those who test negative must undergo home quarantine for seven days. In case they don’t show any symptoms for Covid-19, they must undergo another test on the seventh day. To get tested at the airport, passengers must pay ₹3000. Karnataka government shall use Quarantine App and Tele Medicine to monitor and treat those who test Covid positive.

Also Read: After Airports, Railways Too Tightens Travel Guidelines Amid Omicron Scare

4. Andhra Pradesh

Andhra Pradesh government announced to set up help desks at international airports at Hyderabad to keep a tab on arrivals from South Africa and its neighbouring countries. With a focus on international travellers, the government aims to prevent the spread of the new variant. The help desks shall monitor for symptoms. If passengers test negative they can proceed to their destination under observation. If they test positive they must undergo quarantine and further tests for 7 days.

Also Read: Be Ready For Longer Wait At Delhi Airport Amid New Guidelines After Omicron Scare

5. Kerala

Kerala has announced that passengers arriving from “high risk” nations with Omicron cases, must undergo a struct 14-day home quarantine. This pertains to people who test negative for Covid-19. On the eighth day of the home quarantine, passengers will be tested another time, if they are found negative, they must undergo home quarantine for seven more days. In case they test positive they will be sent to a government hospital for treatment.

Also Read: Abu Dhabi & Dubai Are Now Giving Booster Shots Amid Omicron Scare

6. West Bengal

In the wake of the Omicron variant, West Bengal has extended Covid-19 restrictions till December 31. Night curfew has also been extended from 11 pm to 5 am, all the way till the end of December, While relaxation for essential services continues, passengers flying into the state from Dhaka, London and Singapore must undergo RT-PCR tests and quarantine even if they test negative. Those who test positive will undergo institutional quarantine. Kolkata airport has implemented random shocking, vigilance and strict watch on a passenger’s travel history.

7. Rajasthan

Amid the surge in COVID-19 cases, the Rajasthan government asked officials to implement a night curfew and make full vaccination certificates to enter public places. From January 3, 2022, all cinema halls/theatres/multiplexes/auditoriums and exhibition spaces have been directed to operate with 50% capacity for persons who have received both doses of vaccine.

8. Meghalaya

The Meghalaya government had issued new guidelines and made it mandatory for people entering the state to register with the government website and download the Arogya Setu app and the Behavioural Change Management app. RT-PCR testing is mandatory for all travellers irrespective of their vaccination status.

9. Mizoram

Mizoram has issued guidelines for international travellers entering the state. According to the guidelines, any person entering Mizoram with international travel history will have to, undergo mandatory screening with Rapid Antigen Test. Additionally, samples for the RT-PCR test will also be taken regardless of negative RT-PCR test results.

10. Andaman & Nicobar Islands

Amid a surge in COVID-19 cases, all tourist spots in Andaman have been directed to remain shut until further notice. All sports and entertainment activities have also been prohibited in the state.

So, these are some of the states that have implemented strict travel guidelines for international passengers arriving from abroad.



You may also like

Mouni Roy Romances On A Yacht With Husband 5 Lesser Known Gujarati Dishes Abu Dhabi Beach Clubs 5 Most Beautiful Waterfalls In Kerala 5 Afternoon Tea Destinations In Dubai