Turkey To Discontinue Visa On Arrival For Indian Citizens

by Kritika Kukreja 1085

Under 140 Characters

Since October 28th, visa on arrival and e-visas in Turkey will be banned for citizens from India, Maldives, Nepal, Bhutan and 100 other countries.

What Is It?

If you’re planning to visit Turkey any time soon, you will have to plan in advance. As per 28th October, the visa on arrival or e-visa concept has been banned for India and 100 other countries. Initially, you could land in Istanbul and obtain a visa from there itself, but now you will have to apply for a visa online prior to your departure from your home country. An official copy of the visa will have to be carried by the passenger during their travel and will be cross-checked at the time of arrival.

What Is The Procedure?

At the final step of the application form, the passenger will have to make the payment for the visa and then a downloadable link for the visa will be provided for a print out. This print will have to be carried by the passenger on their travel along with the soft copy of the visa. 

The earlier e-visa is only valid for people travelling to Turkey for commerce or leisure, but if you’re looking for a study or work visa, you will have to go the new route.