HH Sheikh Mohammed Reveals Logo For ‘Year of Tolerance’

by Dhruv Maniar
HH Sheikh Mohammed Reveals Logo For ‘Year of Tolerance’

Under 140 Characters

The year 2019 is being celebrated as the ‘Year of Tolerance’ in the UAE, as declared by President, His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan and HH Sheikh Mohammed has approved the logo for the year. 

What Is It?

2019 is marked as the ‘Year of Tolerance’ & will highlight the UAE as a global capital for tolerance, instilling the values of coexistence and peace in local, regional and international communities. The President said the Year of Tolerance is an extension of the Year of Zayed, as it upholds the values of tolerance and coexistence that the late Sheikh Zayed established among the people of the UAE. Earlier this week HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President, Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai, has approved and unveiled the logo for ‘Year of Tolerance’ The logo is inspired the UAE National tree which is the Ghaf.  The tree symbolizes its evergreen survival in the harsh desert environment. The Ghaf was declared as the national tree of the UAE in 2008. 

Credits: UAE Tolerance Facebook

“Tolerance is a universal value, and Ghaf is our authentic national tree, a source of life and symbol of stability in the middle of the desert, under its shadows our ancestors gathered to consult on matters related to their daily lives. In the ‘Year of Tolerance’, we chose the Ghaf as a logo for all of us to live by the principles of tolerance, coexistence and diversity.” Stated by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed, in a tweet. 


What Else?

The Year of Tolerance focuses on five main pillars. The first will deepen the values of tolerance and coexistence among cultures and peoples by concentrating on teaching the youth about the values of tolerance.

The second pillar seeks to solidify the UAE as the global capital for tolerance, via a series of initiatives and projects specialized in tolerance and dialogue between various cultures and civilizations. The third pillar will enact multiple cultural programmes and contributions to build tolerant communities.

The fourth pillar will focus on legislative and policy-oriented objectives that contribute to mandating cultural and religious tolerance via dialogue. The fifth pillar will focus on promoting tolerance and coexistence via targeted media initiatives and projects.

As a practical application of the principle of tolerance, His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi, ordered renaming the Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Mosque in Al Mushrif, Abu Dhabi, to ‘Mariam, Umm Eisa’ – Arabic for ‘Mary, the mother of Jesus’.