GCC, Asia & Africa To Have 3 New Schengen-Style Visas To Boost Tourism, What It Is & More Details

3 Schengen-style visas set to transform GCC, Asia, and Africa.

by Deeplata Garde
GCC, Asia & Africa To Have 3 New Schengen-Style Visas To Boost Tourism, What It Is & More Details

Get ready for a game-changer in global travel! The concept of Schengen-style visas is about to spread far beyond Europe, potentially reshaping tourism across the GCC, Southeast Asia, and Southern Africa. Imagine exploring multiple countries with a single visa—this could be the future of hassle-free international travel.

Driving Tourism The Schengen-Style Across GCC, Africa & Asia

In a bold move akin to Europe’s Schengen visa, regions across the globe are gearing up to introduce unified visas that could unlock seamless travel experiences for tourists. The GCC countries (UAE, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Oman, Bahrain, Kuwait), ASEAN nations (Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar), and select Southern African countries (Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe) are actively negotiating to launch these game-changing documents.

GCC’s Ambitious Tourism Strategy With Unified Visa

The GCC’s unified visa initiative aligns perfectly with its 2030 tourism strategy, aimed at boosting GDP through increased visitor numbers and enhanced hotel occupancy rates. With over 10,000 hotel establishments and nearly 675,000 rooms across the region, the GCC is poised to leverage this visa to attract more tourists looking to explore its diverse landscapes and cultural offerings.

ASEAN’s Potential Tourism Boost

Malaysia Airlines
Image Credits: Canva Images

Across Southeast Asia, the introduction of a Schengen-style visa could revolutionize travel logistics for countries like Thailand, Vietnam, and Malaysia. A proposed single visa for six ASEAN nations aims to streamline movement for tourists, making it easier to visit multiple destinations within the region. This initiative not only promises to attract more long-haul travellers but also signals a significant leap in Vietnam’s tourism visa policy, potentially extending visa durations to 90 days for added convenience.

Also Read: 6 Nations, 1 Visa: GCC To Launch Schengen-Style Unified Visa By Year End!

Southern Africa’s Univisa Initiative

Aerial View of Cape Town

Meanwhile, in Southern Africa, five countries are banding together to create a unified visa under the Kavango-Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area (KAZA TFCA). This visa, known as the Univisa, will facilitate seamless travel between Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia, and Zimbabwe, encompassing some of the most iconic national parks and natural wonders on the continent. Currently priced at $50 and valid for 30 days, the Univisa is set to expand its reach, offering broader access to Southern Africa’s rich biodiversity and cultural heritage.


As these regions embark on their journey towards unified visas, the world of travel stands poised for transformation. Whether you’re planning to explore the bustling cities of the GCC, delve into the cultural tapestry of Southeast Asia, or embark on a safari adventure in Southern Africa, the prospect of simplified visa processes promises to make your travel dreams a reality. Stay tuned as these visionary initiatives unfold, promising a new era of accessibility and adventure for globetrotters everywhere.

Cover Image Courtesy: Canva Stock Images

For more such snackable content, interesting discoveries and the latest updates on food, travel and experiences in your city, download the Curly Tales App. Download HERE.