Know The Different Types Of Visas Before Embarking On An International Trip

UK Visas
by Vinita Jain 255

A visa is an official document allowing the holder to legally enter a foreign country. A visa is usually stamped or affixed to the holder’s passport. The host country grants different rights to visa holders. There are different types of visas that vary depending on the purpose of travel to each country. To clear up the confusion, here’s what you need to know before embarking on an international trip.

Different Types Of Visas

1. Work Visa

A work visa is required for individuals wishing to get employed or conduct business in the host country. There are several work visas, depending on the type of work and length of stay.

2. Student Visa

A student visa is a type of non-immigrant visa that allows the holder to enrol in higher education institutions in the host country. Hence, it is essential to obtain a student visa if you wish to pursue higher education in another country. Indonesia is offering flexible visas in a bid to attract digital nomads

Different Types Of Visas

Picture Credit: pixabay

3. Business Visa

To engage in commercial activities without entering the labour market of the host country, a business visa is essential. If a person is travelling to conduct business with another company, they may also need a business visa.

4. Tourist Visa

A tourist visa allows you to stay in the host country for a certain period of time for the purpose of sightseeing or leisure. However, these visas do not entitle you to conduct business activities in the country.

Also read: Russia may woo Indians with Visa free entry; expects pre-covid footfall from India by 2023 end

5. Transit Visa

Travellers need a transit visa if they want to transit through a country other than their destination country. If the passenger halts in one of his countries for more than a few hours, a transit visa is usually required.

Different Types Of Visas

Picture Credit: pixabay

6. Spousal Visa

If a couple is not from the same country and wants to visit each other, they can apply for a spouse visa.

7. Immigrant And Non-Immigrant Visa

Holders may reside permanently in the host country without an immigrant visa but are permitted to enter the host country temporarily on non-immigrant visas.

8. E-Visa

An e-visa, or electronic visa, is a digital visa that is stored in a database instead of being stamped or affixed to the holder’s passport. E-visa applications are usually done via the Internet.

Different Types Of Visas

Picture Credit: pixabay

Also read: US emerges as a top study destination for Indians, 82,000 student Visas granted

We hope that after reading this article you get clarity on which type of visa will suit your travel needs.

Cover image courtesy: pixabay