Check Out The First Pictures Of The Much-Awaited Bengaluru-Mysuru Highway! PM Modi Inaugurates It Today

Bengaluru-mysuru highway
by Vaishalee Kalvankar

Prime Minister Narendra Modi reached Karnataka’s Mandya this morning in order to inaugurate and lay the foundation stones of projects that cost around ₹16,000 crore. Under these projects, he will also be inaugurating the much-awaited Bengaluru-Mysuru highway. Before inaugurating and dedicating this project to the nation, PM Modi shared some pictures of this highway. Here is a glimpse of the highway. 

First Pictures Of Bengaluru-Mysuru Highway

The 118-kilometre-long Bengaluru-Mysuru highway will cut travel time from three hours to about 75 minutes between Bengaluru and Mysuru. The motorway is expected to boost the region’s socioeconomic development.


pic credits: @narendramodi/twitter

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate the highway today in the afternoon and will also lay the foundation stone for the Mysuru-Kushalnagar highway. It is built at a cost of ₹8480 crore as part of the Bharatmala Pariyojana and has six main carriageway lanes and two service road lanes on either side.


pic credits: @narendramodi/twitter

This highway has five main bypasses: the Mandya bypass, the Maddur bypass, the Bidadi bypass, a 22-kilometre-long stretch that bypasses Ramnagar and Channapatna, and the Srirangapatna bypass. 

Also Read: 50-Year-Old Iconic Beverage Campa Cola Is Back In 3 Flavours And Nostalgia Is Washing Over Netizens

More facts About This New Development

The Bengaluru-Mysuru Highway will have two toll collection points that will charge tolls for six different types of vehicles. The total toll has been set at around ₹255. Toll Collection will begin on March 15 from Bengaluru to Maddur. Autorickshaws and two-wheelers will be prohibited from using the highway once toll collection begins. 

The foundation stone for this project was laid back in 2018, and it took five years for it to be completed. It is completely access-controlled and, apart from the 5 main bypasses, will also have 64 underpasses, 11 underpasses, and 42 small bridges. 

It was built in two phases. The first phase was a 58-km stretch between Bengaluru and Nidaghatta, and a 61-km stretch between Nidaghatta-Mysuru was the second. The name of this new expressway is yet to be finalised. 

According to the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways, the Government of India plans five Greenfield Expressways and 22 access-controlled corridors totaling 9,860 kilometres in length. 


pic credits: @narendramodi/twitter

Also Read: Mount Merapi Erupts In Indonesia, Smoke And Ash Take Over Villages

Are you excited about this new development?

Cover Image Courtesy: @narendramodi/Twitter

7 Things To Do In North Kolkata 8 Best G&T’s With A Twist You Must Try 8 Most Polluted Rivers In The World 8 Countries That Are The Biggest Polluters Of The Ocean 7 Weirdest Burgers No One Asked For!