Coronavirus Travel Ban: Countries Where Indians Can’t Enter Right Now!

by Suchismita Pal
by Suchismita Pal 2819

Nations all across the world are now easing their travel restrictions, allowing entry of foreigners following the guidelines of safety and social distancing. In most of the countries, it is mandatory for incoming travellers to stay in quarantine for a specified time period. While many destinations like UAE, Britain, Maldives, Turkey and Cambodia are permitting entry of Indians. they still cannot enter some countries including Malaysia, China, Bhutan and Italy. Read on to know the details.

1. Malaysia

Malaysia has banned the entry of citizens from India, Philippines and Indonesia from August 31. As per reports, Defense Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob has said the bans will have an impact on students, emigrants, permanent residents, those with long-term passes and family members of the Malaysians. The country has extended precautionary measures until the end of the year, as the infection is ‘is still actively spreading across the world’, Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin stated in a speech.

Countries Where Indians Are Banned

Picture Credits: Pixabay

2. China

China opened international travel for 36 European and 13 Asian countries on August 27. The Asian countries from where China has allowed entry are Malaysia, Japan, Cambodia, South Korea, Laos, Indonesia, Singapore, Vietnam, Thailand, Brunei, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, and Timor-Leste. The list does not include India. Foreign nationals from the permitted countries holding valid residence permits can visit China now. They can even apply for visas at the local Chinese embassy.

Countries Where Indians Are Banned

Picture Credits: Pixabay

Also Read: Everything You Need To Know About Unlock 4.0

3. Italy

Italy has been allowing entry of travellers from the European Union (EU) nations like Austria, Belgium, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary and others. Other than the EU countries, it is permitting entry from New Zealand, Japan, Australia, Canada, Rwanda, Thailand, Tunasia, Uruguay, and Georgia. High-risk countries like the USA, India and Russia are not on the list.

Countries Where Indians Are Banned

Picture Credits: iStock

4. Bhutan

Bhutan has suspended tourism until further notice. Bhutan has reported a total of 227 cases till date with no deaths. Announcing lockdown from August 11 to September 1, the country has skillfully tackled the coronavirus situation.  Bhutan is adhering to the zero-death policy as per the orders of His Majesty the King of Bhutan. Due to his utmost focus on safety, it’s unlikely for Bhutan to reopen borders to tourists in 2020.

Countries Where Indians Are Banned

Picture Credits: Pixabay

The USA Has Advised Citizens Not To Travel To India

The USA removed its “Do Not Travel” Global Health Advisory for Americans across many countries on July 6. But it retained this for India. The country-specific advisory remained “Level 4: Do Not Travel”. In an updated advisory the state department said: “Do not travel to India due to COVID-19.” There were two reasons given for this. The first one is that the risk of getting infected by a coronavirus is higher in India. And the second reason is that if a person gets coronavirus then the medical care and resources in India to tackle this situation is limited.

Also Read: Travel Anxiety During Pandemic Is A Thing And Here’s How To Deal With It

India has reported nearly 3.77 million coronavirus cases with around 66,333 deaths so far. The nationwide lockdown is getting lifted gradually to help the country’s economy revive.  But it still remains uncertain as to when the pandemic will finally recede.  Meanwhile, here are 6 hotels from around the world that can let you stay for free!

You may also like