DGCA Has Put 166 Passengers On ‘No-Fly List’ Since 2021; Here’s What Lands A Flyer On The List

by Vaishalee Kalvankar
DGCA Has Put 166 Passengers On ‘No-Fly List’ Since 2021; Here’s What Lands A Flyer On The List

According to General VK Singh (Retd), the Union’s state minister for civil aviation, 166 people have been put to the Directorate General of Civil Aviation’s (DGCA) “no fly list” since 2021. The minister added that 38,589,193 passengers were transported domestically by the scheduled Indian carriers between 2020–21 and June–2023 (provisional). Know what a ‘No-fly list’ is and how flyers end up being listed on it.

DGCA Has Put 166 Passengers On ‘No-Fly List’

Credits: Canva

In 2017, the government published regulations to stop disruptive passenger behaviour on flights as well as comprehensive ‘No-fly list’ criteria. The pilot-in-command makes a complaint when a passenger’s behaviour seems disruptive by the airline. The internal panel will look after it. 

The airline may suspend the traveller for up to 30 days while the investigation is ongoing. Within 30 days, the committee reaches a decision. It states how long the flyer will not be able to travel.  The passenger is free to board the aircraft if the panel does not reach a conclusion within the allotted time.

Anyone who interferes in any way with the airline’s regular operations will be on the no-fly list. Airlines accordingly have been told to develop SOPs for scenarios in which a passenger might behave badly. 

 Also Read: Rameshwaram To Get Tourism Boost As OYO Aims To Open 50 Homestays, Walking Trails And Hotels

Examples Of Unruly Behaviour And More

Credits: canva
  • Smoking inside an aircraft,
  • Using obscene or abusive language towards a crew member or other passengers
  • Purposefully obstructing a crew member from performing their duties

DGCA’s list of examples of unruly behaviour includes the above.

The actions that can lead a passenger to the ‘No-fly list’ are a follows in into three tiers. 

  1. Physical gestures, verbal abuse, and disorderly inebriation are all considered level one offences.
  2. Level two offences include physical abuse (pushing, kicking, slapping, etc.)
  3. Level three offences include life-threatening behaviour. This involves destroying a plane using physical force, choking someone, assaulting them violently, etc.

Any person barred by an airline may appeal to an Appellate Committee within 60 days of the order’s issuance. According to CAR, the committee’s decision is final. Any additional appeals will be in the High Court. (As per Deccan Herald)

Also read: You Can Rent An Entire Island With Lighthouse On Airbnb In Scotland’s Skye And Live The Dream Life

What are your views?

Cover Image Courtesy: Canva