Omicron Restrictions: Here Are The Different Guidelines Set By Different Countries

by Sanjana Shenoy
by Sanjana Shenoy 601

With fears of the new Omicron Covid-19 variant on the rise, countries like Israel and Japan have closed their borders to international arrivals. If you’re planning to travel abroad amid the Omicron cases, here is a list of 5 countries that have implemented new travel guidelines. Read on to plan your trips.

1. The USA

U.S. President Joe Biden, imposed strict Covid-19 testing requirements for international arrivals into the country. Every international traveller must undertake a Covid-19 test within one day of departure to the United States. This rule applies to both foreign nationals and U.S. citizens. He also announced restrictions against non-citizens entering the USA from southern African countries like Namibia, Botswana, South Africa, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique and Eswatini

Also Read: PM Modi Brought Back 157 Artefacts & Antiquities Handed Over By The USA

2. Australia

Australia has banned all inbound and outbound flights to southern African countries like Zimbabwe, Eswatini, Lesotho, South Africa, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia and Seychelles for at least 14 days. Foreign travellers with a travel history to this destination within two weeks from entering Australia are also banned.  Fully vaccinated visa holders entering Australia must quarantine in a hotel for up to 14 days. While some locals and Australian citizens can quarantine at home, every state in the country has its own guidelines.

Also Read: Canada, Australia, And 7 Other Countries Are Now Accepting Covaxin For Entry

3. The United Kingdom

The UK has added Namibia, Eswatini, Botswana, South Africa, Zimbabwe and Lesotho to its “red list”. Irish or UK citizens or permanent residents entering the UK from red-list countries must undergo hotel quartier for 10 days. This is irrespective of their vaccination status. Foreign nationals who travelled to red list countries earlier, cannot enter the UK.  Everyone entering the UK must undergo quarantine till they get their RT-PCR test results taken on the second day of arrival into the country In case they test Covid-19 positive they must undergo a 10-day quarantine in the UK.

Also Read: These 6 Indian States Have Implemented New Travel Restrictions Amid Omicron Scare; Details Here

4. Russia

Foreign nationals who have travel history from South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Madagascar, Tanzania, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Eswatini are banned from entering Russia. However, Russian nationals who’ve been to these countries or UK, China, Israel are permitted to enter Russia. But they must undergo a PCR test on arrival and self-isolate till they get confirmed negative results.

Also Read: Everything You Need To Know If You Are Planning A Trip To Russia Right Now!

5. Singapore

Singaporean residents and citizens who have visited Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe Eswatini, Lesotho and South Africa must undergo 10-day quarantine on arrival into the country. However, anyone who isn’t a residency holder or a Singapore passport holder who has visited at least one of these countries cannot enter Singapore or have a layover at the airport.

So, these are some of the countries which have implemented strict rules to combat the dreaded Omicron Covid-19 variant.

You may also like

Mouni Roy Romances On A Yacht With Husband 5 Lesser Known Gujarati Dishes Abu Dhabi Beach Clubs 5 Most Beautiful Waterfalls In Kerala 5 Afternoon Tea Destinations In Dubai