UAE Suspends Flights From 7 Countries Over The Spread Of New COVID Variant

by Shrestha Purkayastha
by Shrestha Purkayastha 358

The UAE on Friday suspended inbound flights from South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Lesotho and Eswatini over the spread of COVID-19 variants. A new coronavirus variant Omicron has been detected in South Africa and scientists are concerned because of its high number of mutations and rapid spread.

Countries Like Canada, USA & The European Union Have Blocked Flights From African Countries

South Africa has seen a dramatic rise in new infections. The country’s Health Minister Joe Phaahla said at an online press briefing. Over the last four or five days, there has been more of an aggressive rise. Experts warn that this covid-19 variant is spreading faster than even the delta variant. First discovered in southern Africa’s Botswana this is a worrisome variant. The super strain has 30 mutations. Many countries like Canada, the USA and the European Union have blocked flights from African countries after the discovery of the Omicron variant.

Also Read: Emirates Announces Sale On Flights To Over 120 Destinations To Celebrate UAE’s 50th National Day

UAE Announced A Ban On Incoming Flights From 7 South African Nations

UAE’s General Civil Aviation Authority, the Supreme Council for National Security and the National Emergency Crisis and Disaster Management Authority announced a ban on inbound flights from South Africa in order to contain the spread of the new variant.

Emirates Bans Flights From 7 South African Nations

The travel ban will take effect from Monday, November 29. Following the new ban, Emirates has suspended inbound passenger flights from seven South African nations. The airline’s website also mentioned that travellers from or transiting through any of these 7 countries will not be permitted to enter Dubai. However, outbound flights from Dubai to these countries will operate as per schedule.

Picture Credits:

Also Read: South Africa Has New Covid-19 Variant Called Omicron; Countries Shut Travel Doors


You may also like